Contemporary Wildlife Art

Contemporary Art: Art from the 1960’s or 70’s up until this very minute. Contemporary art includes any art created by people since the late sixties to the present. This exhibit will deal with Contemporary Wildlife art by three undeniably talented artist. These works  are easy on the eyes and senses and gives one a feeling of being connected to our animal neighbors. The viewer gets the feeling that they could be right there with the animal, this shows great skill by the artist.

Carl Brenders’ was born in Belgium in 1937. Brenders’  insistence on anatomical perfection in his paintings stems from his philosophy that nature, itself, is perfection: “That is why I paint the way I do with so much detail and so much realism — I want to capture that perfection,” he says.The wildlife images of Brenders’ art are first drawn with pencil sketches; from these sketches his mixed media paintings of watercolor and gouache are completed with a technique he has developed during the last 25 years. His paintings,  devote equal attention to the detail of the wildlife subject and its habitat and the mood created by the light.Double Dare” By Carl Brenders 1983

Eye of the Beholder” By Carl Brenders date unknown

Bev Doolittle was born in California in 1968. Bev Doolittle’s phenomenal success has been a by-product of her desire to work hard at what she loves to do most – create art with meaning. Realistic Western art has conventionally been dominated by oil painting, and Doolittle was instrumental in bringing watercolors into the genre.

Pintos” By Bev Doolittle 1979

Bev Doolittle is one of America’s most collected artists. Her camouflage art is loved by art collectors around the world. Through dedication and sheer force of talent. Doolittle has achieved a status in the art world few contemporary artists  dream of. Crowded with visual detail, haunted by presences seen and unseen, her paintings captivate the viewer on many levels.


Caribou Country” By Bev Doolittle 1986

“I love nature,” Doolittle says. “I try to look beyond the obvious and create unique, meaningful paintings depicting our Western wilderness and its inhabitants. I start with a concept and attempt to convey it through strong design coupled with detailed realism. I want people to think when they look at my paintings…my advice to aspiring artists is simple – paint what you know, paint what you love and always paint for yourself.” For me, success followed my passion. Passion is what drives me.”

Dan Smith is one of America’s foremost wildlife artists. Smith enjoys wide acclaim for his  depictions of landscapes and wildlife as well as his conservation “stamp” artwork. An ardent supporter of wildlife conservation, Smith feels indebted to the natural world that has provided him with the sole inspiration for his award-winning career.

Still Water Crossing” By Daniel Smith 2009

“In my opinion Dan Smith is truly one of  America’s great wildlife painters.” Says John Geraghty, board member of the Autry Museum of the American West, “Viewing the art of Dan Smith I am impressed by the meticulous attention to detail, the purity of realism and conspicuous depth of knowledge in his subject matter…Dan is unique in his approach to painting. He straddles that line of photo-realism with a masterfully painterly style. He has an ability to capture the personality of his subjects at that magic moment in time.”

On Common Ground” By Daniel Smith 2008

Stuart Johnson, owner of Settlers West Gallery in Tucson claims “To take the subject matter beyond the constraints of the photo is something few can do and Dan does it better than anyone else….His animals appear to be right there for the touching. His compositions are terrific.”

Through his art, Dan Smith endorses and aids many conservation efforts.

My love of wildlife and my admiration of these  marvelous pieces of art,  are almost equal. I can only marvel at the skill these artist possess to create these wondrous lifelike paintings.

http://www.texasartdepot.com/t-

brenders_morebio.aspxhttp://www.galleryone.com/artframing/brenders.html

http://www.world-wide-art.com/bio/Bev_Doolittle.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bev_Doolittle http://www.riverwindgallery.com/DOOLITTLE/biography%20doolittle.htm

http://www.danielsmithwildlife.com/

http://www.danielsmithwildlife.com/the-artist.html http://www.christcenteredmall.com/stores/art/smith/daniel_smith_biography.htm http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Smith_(artist)

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    Kodiak907 Says:

    Three different views from three different artists equals the same result, adventures in wildlife caaptured in a series of paintings. I knew nothing of these artists so great feedback. I’m a little surprised you didn’t shake things up a bit by going outside Contemporary Art. All three artists share the same passion so I kind of find this as an easy write up. What about an artist outside of Contemporary Art? There’s Environmental Art that brings nature to the audience. Your thoughts and feelings on why you chose these artists suggests that your an avid fan of the wild. I actually like Daniel Smith’s painting “On Common Ground”, great job!

  2. 2
    Clark T Says:

    I thought you did a great job on this one. All of these artist are amazing and very talented! And it seems you are a fan too. I have heard of Doolittle and very much like her art but not the other two so it was really interesting to see their works. I like that you had a specific topic and stuck to it really well and also showed artist who are very skilled and passionate about their work.

  3. 3
    caitlincatrose Says:

    Wow! This was a well-written piece, with lots of great information about the artists in question. I never would have thought of picking this kind of art for the exhibit, but I am very glad you did!

  4. I love the subjects that you chose for your blog. The painting I likes the best was with the spotted horses. Great job.

  5. 5
    eretterer Says:

    Nice gallery! I thought you chose a good topic and had good information overall. You met the criteria for the most part, but one part that I wanted most of all isn’t there! I don’t see any analysis of the specific works you’ve pasted into your blog. Granted, they all speak for themselves to a degree, but I would love to learn about them in more detail.

    For example, Carl Brender’s “Double Dare” looks too lifelike to be a painting. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I read that. It is a painting, right? It literally looks like a photograph to me, maybe I’m just ignorant, I don’t know, but that’s where I would have liked to see some more flesh, personally. Other than that I thought it was great, and nice to see and learn about something new on my end. Cheers.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

